Mama Tica

While my goal may have originally been to learn Spanish, I think focus has changed immensely since arriving in Costa Rica. I wanted to learn Spanish so I could feel like a cultured citizen and gain an important life skill that would hopefully be useful for work and travel. But now I realize that I want to learn Spanish to be able to communicate with the hundred of thousand people I currently have a language barrier with. More specifically, I want to learn Spanish so that my host mom and I can really get to know each other and have a solid conversation without the help of a translator (even though my roommate is amazing!).

My tica mom has let me into her house and family for a 1/5 of my year. Even though we can’t fully communicate, I have learned so much about and from her that I can’t wait to see what the next 10 weeks bring. She is an incredible, caring, sassy, and intelligent woman. While she may have very simple days, you can tell she is happy when she is helping others and hanging with friends and family. She rarely lets us clean the dishes, she does our laundry almost everyday, she teaches us about Costa Rica, but most importantly she welcomed us with open arms.

She is the least selfish person I have ever met – giving as much as she can and asking for nothing in return. You can tell that she is a force for good in the world, always thinking of community service activities (mural painting and tutoring) to be done in the community. I am beyond grateful that I was placed with her. I am yearning for the time when we have our first real conversation!

2 thoughts on “Mama Tica

  1. I am so thrilled that you have been so fortunate in your home stay placement. I am grateful for your wonderful Mama Tica and hope I will get to meet her — although will be really incapable of conversation given no spanish, only high school french! Hopefully, by then you can be the translator!

Leave a Reply

